
 

 

Na mão 13, do ultimo segmento da meia final do Campeonato Nacional de Equipas Open (CNEO), fui 

chamado à mesa pelo facto de ter havido explicações diferentes dos dois lados da cortina. 

 

O leilão foi: 

1ST – P – P – X 

2º - 2E – 3º - P 

P - P  

 

O dobre foi alertado para Sul como 4 cartas em Rico e 5 Cartas num menor. Do outro lado da cortina 

não houve alerta, mas questionado por Norte, o jogador em Este disse “jogo”. 

Da análise ao sistema de E/W apurei que se a intervenção for directa o dobre é o 5/4, mas em revéil não 

está previsto. 

 

LAW 12 - DIRECTOR’S DISCRETIONARY POWERS  

A. Power to Award an Adjusted Score On the application of a player within the period established under 

Law 92B or on his own initiative the Director may award an adjusted score when these Laws empower 

him to do so (in team play see Law 86B). This includes:  

1. The Director may award an adjusted score in favour of a non-offending contestant when he judges 

that these Laws do not prescribe a rectification for the particular type of violation committed.  

2. The Director awards an artificial adjusted score if no rectification can be made that will permit normal 

play of the board (see C2 below).  

3. The Director may award an adjusted score if there has been an incorrect rectification of an 

irregularity.  

B. Objectives of Score Adjustment  



1. The objective of score adjustment is to redress damage to a non-offending side and to take away any 

advantage gained by an offending side through its infraction. Damage exists when, because of an 

infraction, an innocent side obtains a table result less favourable than would have been the expectation 

had the infraction not occurred. 

 2. The Director may not award an adjusted score on the grounds that the rectification provided in these 

Laws is either unduly severe or advantageous to either side.  

C. Awarding an Adjusted Score  

1. 

 (a) When after an irregularity the Director is empowered by these laws to adjust a score and is able to 

award an assigned adjusted score, he does so. Such a score replaces the score obtained in play.  

(b) The Director in awarding an assigned adjusted score should seek to recover as nearly as possible the 

probable outcome of the board had the infraction not occurred.   

 

LAW 21 - MISINFORMATION  

1 

A.  

(…) 

B. (b) The Director is to presume Mistaken Explanation rather than Mistaken Call in the absence of 

evidence to the contrary. 

LAW 75 - MISTAKEN EXPLANATION OR MISTAKEN CALL  

(…) 

 D. Director’s Determination  

1. Players are expected to disclose their partnership agreements accurately (see Law 20F1); failure to do 

so constitutes Misinformation.  

2. It is a condition of any partnership agreement that both players possess the same mutual 

understanding, and it is an infraction to describe an agreement where the same mutual understanding 

does not exist.  If the Director determines that the misleading explanation was not based upon a 

partnership agreement, he applies Law 21B.  

3. When there is an infraction (as per B1 or D2) and sufficient evidence exists as to the agreed meaning 

of the call, the Director awards an adjusted score based upon the likely outcome had the opponents 

received the correct explanation in a timely manner.  If the Director determines that the call has no 

agreed meaning, he awards an adjusted score based upon the likely outcome had the opponents been 

so informed. 

 



Assim sendo, e depois de ter feito polling às mãos de Norte e de Sul, para ambas as explicações cheguei 

à conclusão que as vozes eram as mesmas com qualquer das explicações, pelo que o leilão não foi 

afectado pelo erro de explicação.  

Apesar de haver infração não existe dano no período de leilão pois decisão de marcar 2 Oiros e/ou 3 

Oiros não é influenciada pela explicação errada. 

Já no caso do carteio, caso a explicação fosse diferente, a linha de carteio seria diferente, sendo 

concedida menos uma vasa, havendo, aqui sim, nexo de causalidade entre a infracção e o dano. 

De acordo com o artº 75 D2 , que remete para o artº 21B1b, concluí ter havido uma infracção (má 

informação - a informação correcta sendo "não combinado; em 2ª posição é 4M/5+m, nesta pode ser 

jogo". No seguimento do polling, concluí que essa má informação não causou dano durante o leilão, mas 

concluí também que o carteio seria com grande probabilidade diferente caso a declarante estivesse na 

posse da informação correta, pelo que aplicando o artº 75D3 decidi ajustar o resultado para 3 Oiros, por 

Norte, 2 Cabides, 200 para EW – 7 IMPs para a equipa CNSV – Miguel Teixeira. 

 

 

 

---------------///--------------- 

 

 

 

Devido ao adiantado da hora, à necessidade de receber respostas ao polling em curso e ao facto de me 

ter de deslocar ainda para a minha casa no Minho, não decidi na altura, deixando a decisão para mais 

tarde. 

Sabendo, no entanto, a necessidade de celeridade na decisão tomei-a o mais rápido que me foi possível. 

Ainda devido à pecularidade da situação o prazo de recurso é establecido até às 23.59 do dia de 

amanhã,  21 de Maio. 

 

 

Vila Nova de Cerveira, 20.05.2025 

Pedro Álvares Ribeiro 


